Thursday, November 21, 2019
Politics Term 2014-2018 Town Council's LAST Meeting, Farewells

Term 2014-2018 Town Council’s LAST Meeting, Farewells

Aurora Town Council’s last 2014-2018 Term meeting was held on November 27th, 2018. In my opinion, probably one of the least interesting Council meetings I attended in the past four years, mainly because it was ceremonial rather than operational.  It was the last one for three of the Council members: Deputy Mayor John Abel (2-Term Councillor and Deputy Mayor), Councillor Paul Pirri (2-Term Councillor), Councillor Jeff Thom (1-Term Councillor); as well as the Mayor: Geoff Dawe (2-Term Mayor).  Those departing had no business to look after. No new debates, no deliberations, no new business on the agenda, only a few public announcements. A handful of regulars in the audience, including myself. Interestingly enough public applause was allowed, unlike most regular meetings.

Furthermore, during the comments session there were lots of praises at the semi-round table which during the next term will only seat six members of Council and a Mayor. Many, many “thank yous” among themselves, including farewell notes, best wishes, and of course gifts. Lifelong friendships formed among some. A few 2014-2018 Term accomplishments and one disappointment mentioned. And I almost forgot, at the beginning there was one last delegation for this term by the former Mayor Tim Jones, that could easily be titled “thank you, thank you, thank you.”

If you do survive watching this video that only showcases the comment session of the Council meeting, what do you think? Are you happy with the Mayor and Councillor’s performance in the 2014-2018 Term? Perhaps some of you can’t even answer, and perhaps for many of you out there it is time to engage in municipal politics for the 2018-2022 Council Term. Decisions will be made at the Council table in the next four years and those decisions need public support.

Here is something interesting to note from the Municipal Elections Act, 1996, S.O. 1996, c. 32, Sched., the official Transition from one term Council to another take place as follow: “(1.1) Despite subsection (1), with respect to the 2018 regular election, the term of all offices to which this Act applies shall begin on December 1, 2018 and end on November 14, 2022. 2017, c. 10, Sched. 4, s. 8 (2).

Therefore next week at the December 4th Council meeting there will be a ceremonial transition only. We will officially welcome back Cllr Tom Mrakas as Town of Aurora Mayor, Cllr Harold Kim (Deputy Mayor), Cllr Sandra Humfryes, Cllr Wendy Gaertner, Cllr Michael Thompson, and welcome coming back this term Cllr John Gallo and first time elected Cllr Rachel Gilliland.

Anna Lozyk Romeo
Aurora, ON


Canopy of Lights – Approved Yes, Feasible Maybe

It has been about two or three years since the Christmas tree on St. John’s Sideroad, just West of Yonge Street, was...

March Break Family Walk, Town Park and Beyond

The sun is starting to be much warmer lately. Snow still on the ground. Spring is though around the corner and soon...

Aurora’s Recreational Cannabis Economy Will Be Booming

Perhaps it is the science part of the political science field that fascinates me the most. When I graduated from engineering over...

Aurora Council Term 2018-2022 Installed and Working

It is hard to believe that I actually survived four years sitting at the Council Chambers and watched religiously Aurora General Committee,...

A Christmas Poem 2018 by Elizabeth Hearn Milner

Christmas is coming and my thoughts to Scrooge stray.He's a much maligned fellow whom we should praise to-day.I see that you doubt...